Ana Nery Fragoso

Distinguished Lecturer, Director of the Arnhold Graduate Dance Education Program
Advisory Hours are Tuesday and Thursday from 2 to 4 pm

Ana Nery Fragoso is the Acting Director of the Arnhold Graduate Dance Education Program at Hunter College, CUNY. AGDEP prepares candidates to teach Dance PreK – Grade 12 to students of diverse backgrounds, abilities, and interests. Fragoso served as Director of Dance Programs for the NYCDOE Office of Arts and Special Projects from 2014-2021. She provided leadership and guidance for dance programs in public schools, designed professional learning opportunities for dance educators teaching K-12 dance in NYC public schools, and served as a liaison between the NYCDOE and external organizations offering dance and dance-related services to schools. She also directed the Arnhold New Dance Teacher Support Program, which provides first and second-year dance specialists with mentorship, funds, and instructional support. She was a member of the NYCDOE Dance Blueprint Writing Committee in 2004 and has worked as an NYCDOE dance facilitator co-designing professional development workshops for New York City Department of Education dance specialists. In 2017, she was a member of the New York State Dance Learning Standards writing team. From 2007-14, Ana was a faculty member at the Dance Education Laboratory (DEL) at the 92nd St Y. Fragoso earned a B.A. Dance/Education from Hunter College and an M.F.A. in Dance/Choreography from Sarah Lawrence College. She is currently a doctoral student at Ed.D. Dance Education Program at Teachers College, Columbia University. She is the recipient of the Dance Teacher Award 2022.

  • Teachers College, Columbia University, EdD Dance Education Candidate
  • Sarah Lawrence College, Bronxville, NY, M.F.A. in Dance, and Choreography
  • Hunter College, New York, NY, B.A. Major – Dance; Minor –Education.
  • Dance Pedagogy – Methods 1
  • Dance Pedagogy – Methods 2
  • Student Teaching Seminar

The Arnhold Graduate Dance Education Program is generously funded by the Arnhold Foundation.